Friend, thank you for asking.

But I never know how to answer that.

I dread that question, to be honest.

Can I just ignore it? 

But you’re waiting.

What are you expecting?

Can I tell you that I’m climbing my way out of a deep abysmal pit?

Would you understand me when I say I feel like I’m drowning and barely breathing?

Can you comprehend how difficult it is for me to get through the day, everyday?

Would you get me when I tell you it’s hard to keep this mask on?

You would ask “Why?”

You would ask “What happened?”

You would get confused when I say “Nothing.”

‘Cause really, how do I even explain EVERYTHING? 

Everything happened.

You would probe until you get frustrated.

Or maybe tell me those cliches I always tell myself.

“You’ll get through this.”

“You’ll be fine.”

“Everything will work out.”

Oh my dear friend, I can’t go through that conversation today.

I’ve been through it so many times.

Today, just like any other day, I’ll answer the same thing.

 

“I’m okay.”

